Consultants, lawyers and contractors
The Town has not published what it paid any of its Eaglecrest advisors, and we found no open Council vote hiring any of them.
On Eaglecrest
The only public figure is one budget line. In October 2025 Council budgeted $125,000 “to cover consultant costs for public open houses and due diligence, legal fees and engineering studies” (carried 4–1, Harrison opposed). The Town spent $166,842 in 2025, $41,842 over. The Town hasn’t published a breakdown.
| Advisor | What for | Paid | How hired |
|---|---|---|---|
| MODUS Planning, Design & Engagement | Tested whether the purchase would pay for itself through land sales, advised on land use, and ran the September 2025 open houses and survey. The July 2025 quote also covered work by Westplan and Cunningham & Rivard. The copy released is unsigned, so the final amount isn’t known.On this site: The September 2025 survey | Quoted $46,055 plus GST (released under FOI) | No Council vote found. Staff added the work to MODUS’s housing plan contract. |
| Westplan Consulting | Supported MODUS on the purchase review. | Included in the MODUS quote | No Council vote found |
| Cunningham & Rivard Appraisals | Appraisal and market work for the purchase review. The Town hasn’t said who did its two land appraisals. | Included in the MODUS quote | No Council vote found |
| Keso Turf Supplies | Golf course renovation specialist who helped shape the course redesign, then inspected the work and certified the contractor’s bills.On this site: The Eaglecrest budget | Up to $118,100 plus GST (released under FOI) | No open Council vote found. The Town’s purchase order says “Council provided direction to enter into an agreement with KESO.” On March 4, 2026, before that agreement was signed, the Mayor approved the first payments to the course contractor by email. |
| Jamie Larson, realtor | Advice on marketing, and the listing of, two Town-owned lots on Fairways Drive and Royal Dornoch Drive, part of the plan to sell land to pay for Eaglecrest.On this site: Land sales | Not published | Closed meeting, Jul 7, 2025; listing renewed in a closed meeting, Jun 17, 2026 |
| The Town’s communications consultant | Checked the purchase news release, FAQ and key messages. The motion doesn’t name the consultant. Idea Camp Communications was hired as the Town’s communications consultant in 2022. | Not published | Closed meeting, Jul 7, 2025 |
| Firms not named | Phase I and II environmental reports, an ecological report, a building inspection of the clubhouse, a review of servicing limits, a land appraisal, and engineering for the lots to be sold.On this site: The environmental reports, The building inspection | Not published | Not stated |
Contracts with a published amount:
| Contractor | What for | Amount | Decided |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grassroots Enterprises | Design-build contract to rework the course. Council let staff approve changes up to $1.65 million, about 10% of it for consulting and inspection, then raised that to $2.4 million in a closed meeting on Apr 15, 2026. $1,769,100 of the $2.6 million course work budget spent by the end of June 2026.On this site: The Eaglecrest budget, The pond and other changes | $1,181,800 | Feb 11, 2026, carried 3–2 (Harrison and Young opposed) |
| Oakcreek Golf & Turf | Golf course maintenance equipment, bought through a purchasing group without a separate tender.On this site: The Eaglecrest budget | $755,428 | Mar 16, 2026, unanimous (Harrison absent) |
| In The Dirt Contracting | Roads and services for the Eaglecrest lots to be sold. Six bids.On this site: Land sales | $573,917 | Sep 9, 2026 |
| Extreme Eatz Restaurants | Restaurant lease, interim course maintenance, and a golf operations agreement still being finalized. The Town and the operator put more than $300,000 into the clubhouse. Restaurant rent is $4,500 a month plus GST until the end of 2027, rising to $5,665 in 2030.On this site: The restaurant lease | Not published | Operator request for proposals Sep 17, 2025, carried 4–1 (Harrison opposed); contracts approved in closed meetings, Mar 11 and Apr 20, 2026 |
Amounts exclude GST. The Town’s 2025 supplier list also shows $8,503,844 paid to Semiahmoo Golf Centre Ltd., in the year the Town paid $8.5 million for Eaglecrest. We found no Town document that names the seller.
Across the Town: $1,611,164 from 2023 to 2025
Every year the Town lists each supplier it paid more than $25,000. These are the law firms, consultants and advisors on the 2023, 2024 and 2025 lists. A dash means $25,000 or less. Engineers, architects and archaeologists working on specific building, park, water and road projects are left out.
| Firm | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | What for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Young Anderson BarristersLegal | $92,178 | $106,732 | $97,540 | Law firm |
| Harris & CompanyLegal | – | $51,057 | $54,947 | Law firm |
| Dominion GovlawLegal | $40,729 | – | – | Law firm |
| Idea Camp CommunicationsCommunications and web | $60,011 | $88,166 | $84,864 | The Town’s communications consultant, hired in 2022 through a call for applicants |
| Kimbo DesignCommunications and web | – | $68,523 | – | Town website redesign, awarded at $43,800 in Feb 2024 |
| NGL Nordicity GroupPlanning and advice | – | – | $88,570 | Sustainable economic development strategy ($112,470 contract, March 2025, mostly paid by a provincial grant). Staff reported it complete in September 2026; it has not been publishedOn this site: The unpublished strategy |
| MODUS Planning, Design & EngagementPlanning and advice | – | – | $78,641 | Eaglecrest purchase review and consultation, and the attainable housing plan ($54,663, carried 3–2)On this site: Its Eaglecrest work |
| Dalelynn Consulting ServicesPlanning and advice | – | $74,753 | $25,919 | Not stated in the Council records we checked |
| Diamond Head ConsultingPlanning and advice | – | $62,801 | – | Community Wildfire Resiliency Plan, adopted June 2024 |
| HBR ConsultingPlanning and advice | – | $56,175 | – | Not stated in the Council records we checked |
| Kiraco ConsultingPlanning and advice | $30,192 | $40,793 | $33,527 | Not stated in the Council records we checked |
| Your City SolutionsPlanning and advice | – | $28,875 | $26,250 | Not stated in the Council records we checked |
| D.R. Clough ConsultingPlanning and advice | – | $28,645 | – | Not stated in the Council records we checked |
| Westplan Consulting GroupPlanning and advice | $53,626 | – | – | Also supported MODUS on the Eaglecrest review in 2025 (see above)On this site: Its Eaglecrest work |
| Brentwood Advisory GroupPlanning and advice | $46,810 | – | – | Facilitated Council’s strategic planning sessions in January 2023 |
| Operations EconomicsPlanning and advice | $30,144 | – | – | Not stated in the Council records we checked |
| KPMGAudit and finance | $37,832 | $42,693 | $46,536 | The Town’s auditor |
| DeloitteAudit and finance | – | – | $33,635 | Not stated in the Council records we checked |
Supplier payments include GST, and can cover more than one job. Sources: Staff report: 2025–2029 Financial Plan Amendment, Oct 22, 2025 (opens in a new tab); Regular Council minutes, Oct 22, 2025 (opens in a new tab); Presentation: 2026–2030 Financial Plan Amendment, Jun 24, 2026 (2025 Eaglecrest spending, slide 17) (opens in a new tab); Regular Council agenda and staff reports, Oct 22, 2025 (opens in a new tab); Eaglecrest Project FAQ, Sep 14, 2026 (opens in a new tab); MODUS change order and staff emails, Jul–Sep 2025 (released under FOI-2026-12; published by Town Hall Math) (opens in a new tab); News release: Eaglecrest Reconfiguration Contract Awarded, Feb 25, 2026 (opens in a new tab); Eaglecrest payment records, Feb–Jul 2026, pp. 1–225 (released under FOI-2026-54; published by Town Hall Math) (opens in a new tab); Regular Council agenda, Nov 20, 2025 (opens in a new tab); Regular Council agenda, Jun 24, 2026 (closed-meeting motions released, pp. 239–240; 2025 Statement of Financial Information, pp. 261–262) (opens in a new tab); Regular Council minutes, Apr 6, 2022 (communications consultant hired) (opens in a new tab); Regular Council agenda and staff reports, Sep 9, 2026 (opens in a new tab); Staff report: Eaglecrest Golf Course Reconfiguration contract award, Feb 11, 2026 (late items) (opens in a new tab); Regular Council minutes, Feb 11, 2026 (opens in a new tab); Special Council minutes, Mar 16, 2026 (opens in a new tab); Council Corner, Sep 9, 2026 (opens in a new tab); Regular Council minutes, Sep 17, 2025 (opens in a new tab); Eaglecrest restaurant lease, Apr 2026 (released under FOI-2026-23; published by Town Hall Math) (opens in a new tab); 2023 Statement of Financial Information (supplier payments, pp. 5–6; scanned) (opens in a new tab); 2024 Statement of Financial Information (supplier payments) (opens in a new tab); Special Council minutes, Jan 11, 2023 (strategic planning, Brentwood Advisory Group) (opens in a new tab).